Call Today (863) 421-9700

Auto Accident | 14 days, Car Accident, PIP |

In The State of Florida, You Have 14 Days to Get Treatment… VERY IMPORTANT! If you are in an accident as a Floridian, it is very important to be aware that state law says you must have personal injury protection (PIP) or no fault coverage as part of your car insurance policy in the state of Florida. Simply put, if you purchase mandatory coverage, your insurance company will pay for 80% of the first $10,000 of your medical expenses if you suffer from an emergency medical condition in a car accident, and $2,500 if you do not.

Insurance Advice: Required coverage under the law also covers destruction to property like if you smash another automobile. Required coverage does not cover physical damage to the other driver if you do not purchase bodily liability in your auto insurance policy.

Call Today (863) 421-9700

For those who don’t know the law it has recently been changed & now has a touchy new stipulation. Residents of the state of Florida only have 14 days to get treatment after an auto accident. This is commonly know as “the 14 day rule,” and is distinctive to the state of Florida.

What is an initial treatment and what does it include?The 14 day rule applies to initial treatment only. Initial treatment is the first medical professional who evaluates you for your car accident injuries following an auto accident.

The law indicates which medical professionals count as initial treaters:

• Dentists • Emergency Transports (EMT) • Chiropractors (DC) • Hospitals • Medical Doctors (MD) • Walk-in Clinics

Call Today (863) 421-9700

This means that if you treat with a physical therapist, massage therapist, or other medical professional not listed above for your initial treatment during the 14 days following your car accident, then the insurance would not be required to cover the medical bills for treatment needed as a result of the car accident.

Insurance Advice: If you do not seek medical treatment within the 14 day window following your car accident, you will forfeit use of the motorist’s PIP coverage. Insurance companies are no longer required by law to cover the medical expenses of those who wait to get treated, regardless if symptoms manifest after 14 days.

How does the law define what is and is not an emergency medical condition (EMC)?The statute regarding EMC is not clear and as a result can be frustrating, but the impact is big. Your treating medical professional will check whether you have suffered an EMC. If they decide you have, you will receive up to $10,000 in PIP benefits. If they decide you have not, you will recover $2,500 in PIP benefits. The initial treating medical professional does not have to make this decision nor does it need to be made within the 14 days following the accident. In fact, the decision can be rendered at any time following the accident.

Call Today (863) 421-9700

Who may opine an EMC?Medical doctors, DO, PA, and advanced registered nurse practitioners may all render an EMC for you. It’s important to keep in mind Chiropractors cannot. A Chiropractor may state their patient has not suffered an EMC, but again, cannot affirm an EMC is present.

This part of the law is confusing to the majority, as it doesn’t really add up, and was enacted about a minute prior to resetting the law. A challenge to this rule is before the appellate courts in hopes of enacting change.

Injured In a Car Accident? Call Ridge Chiropractic Today!Call immediately to schedule chiropractic care if you have been involved in a car accident. A chiropractor will develop a treatment plan if necessary based upon varying factors of your current state of health, including whether you have been involved in a auto wreck, job injury, slip and fall, athletic injury, or any other incident.

At Ridge Chiropractic we offer a wide range of services and treatment modalities including spinal care and massage therapy by a certified massage therapist. Call (863) 421-9700 to schedule your free consultation for chiropractic care at Ridge Chiropractic.

Legal Disclaimer: Please note: Ridge Chiropractic is not a legal referral service and provide medical services only. Note: Ridge Chiropractic is not responsible for the outcome of your legal case, nor any relationship you may have with an attorney for any reason.

Call Today (863) 421-9700